MCDFNL’s top football and netball vote getters revealed

While the biggest vote getters in the league are recognised annually on the Maryborough Castlemaine District Football Netball League’s (MCDFNL) night of nights, the Berry Powell and Nalder-Tracey Medal, the question on everyones lips is always who else came close?

Joel Cowan from Trentham and Jess Hollett from Avoca took out the senior football and A grade netball league best and fairest late last year, but both were in fierce competition against players from clubs around the district.

AFL Goldfields has released the top five senior football vote getters from their club’s own vote counts and The Advertiser can also reveal the top three A grade netballers from each club as per the league vote count for the 2019 season.

As the league medalist, it was no surprise that Cowan also took Trentham’s best and fairest, followed in the count by Jack Hayward, Jake Keogh, Mark Strickland and Nick Stevenson and Zac Gervasoni who tied for fifth.

Out at Talbot, Matt Smith was recognised by the Hawks and was followed on the board by Ryan Aquilina, Matt Bond, Trent Barras and Zac Graham.

Royal Park’s best were Jay Anderson, Branden Wagstaff, Brendan Murdoch, Zac Tunbridge and Rhys Egan.

For more on this story see the Back Page of The Advertiser, Tuesday, February 25

Comments are closed.