Laane continues winning form in B grade

The Maryborough District Cricket Associationʼs official season has concluded for 2018, with the final rounds played last weekend. In A grade, Branden Wagstaff bats for Colts Phelans in the sideʼs first loss of the season at the hands of Maryborough.

The Maryborough District Cricket Association’s (MDCA) 2018 portion of the season has drawn to a close with the completion of round seven at the weekend.

No A reserve games were played on Saturday as Clunes had already defeated Beaufort the round before while Colts Phelans and the Creswick Imperials were washed out.

A reserve will now break until January 12, 2019.

B grade saw ladder-leaders Laanecoorie Dunolly take a leasurely five-wicket win over bottom of the ladder side, Carisbrook on Saturday.

Taking to the pitch for the last official round of 2018, Laane elected to bat first after winning the toss.

Dunolly needed just six batsmen to complete all 40 overs, finishing with a score of 5/171.

Opening bat Paul Waddington (69) and skipper David Billinghurst (48) were Laane’s main contributors, accounting for a combined 117 runs of a total 171.

Jayden McDonald, Brad Wood and Nick Peart took one wicket apiece for Brook while captain Jarryd Coghlan claimed two.

For more on this story see Page 45 of The Advertiser, Friday, December 21

Comments are closed.