Large training squad named ahead of MCDFNL interleague campaign

The Maryborough Castlemaine District Football Netball League has named a large 53-man initial training squad ahead of the AFL Victoria Worksafe Community Championships later this month.

Released on Saturday, the interleague representative squad will begin training tomorrow at Princes Park and will be cut down to a final selection on May 16, ahead of the May 19 clash against the West Gippsland FNL.

Twelve of the MCDFNL’s clubs are represented in the training squad with Campbells Creek and Maldon the only sides yet to have players selected.

However, MCDFNL operations manager Mitch Tinning said players may still be added to the side as training sessions progress across the next fortnight.

“The final squad will be selected and announced by Clayton Scoble and his coaching team in the week leading up to the trip to Garfield, and the selected players will be presented with their playing jumpers on May 16 in a special presentation,” Tinning said.

Following a 28-point win over the Warrnambool District FNL in 2017, the MCDFNL sits 26th on the 32- team 2018 Country Championships rankings. This year’s opponents, West Gippsland, sit in 27th.

2018 MCDFNL senior interleague football squad

Avoca: Nick Coghlan, Haydn Slater, Toby Beavis.

Carisbrook: Jackson Bowen, Ash Munari, Steven Patterson, Matt Bilton, Harry Butler, Angus McKinna.

Dunolly: Craig OʼNeill, Daniel Hawkes, Beau Roy-Clements

Harcourt: Paul Chaplin, Sam Gale, Ben Leech, Chris Ling.

Lexton: Lachie Rokebrand, Tom Cullinan, Jake Eyers, Jimmy Templeton.

Maryborough Rovers: Bryce Fletcher, Aaron Westbrook, Jon Murphy, Tommy Dargaville, Elliott Massina.

Natte Bealiba: Lachie Cameron, Josh Grant, Bailey Cossar, Jye Mortlock, Dan Vadala.

Navarre: Louis Hannett, Josh Fowkes.

Newstead: Kaleb McBride, Dylan Bourke, Adam Hunter, Rhys Smith, Michael Checkley.

Royal Park: Jay Anderson, Sam Anderson, Jacob Rollason, Trent Baird, Brett Cook, Matt Walker, Rich Zelencich, Murray Bond.

Talbot: Jorde Bux, Trent Barras, Luke Kemp, Ryan Aquilina.

Trentham: Nick Stevenson, Luke Whitehouse, Pat Rowe, Jake Keogh.

For more on this story see the Back Page of The Advertiser, Tuesday, May 1.

Comments are closed.