New leaders in MDCA

The Maryborough District Cricket Association’s 2017-18 season will be unlike any before it with a swag of clubs heading in new leadership directions.

Ahead of the beginning of the A grade season on Saturday, six of the league’s seven clubs have confirmed new captains will lead their top XI onto the fields.

Reigning premiers Maryborough will be led by Ben Hoban in 2017-18 with Corey Taylor standing down from the role but remaining at the club.

Another experienced former captain Steven Dellavedova has also handed over the reins, taking on a player-only role while giving 20- year-old Jayden Templeton the lead of Laanecoorie Dunolly.

Colts Phelans and Clunes have also elected new skippers.

Dayne Baker will head-up Colts’ attack, taking over from Richie Clark, who will remain at the club, while Lucas Fudge is set to lead the Magpies with Nick Hind unable to commit to a full season due to VFL commitments.

For Creswick, Kane Leathem is back in charge after Liam Hepworth led the Knights last season.

Carisbrook has finalised its captaincy appointment, with Leigh Koop to captain alongside a leadership group including Martin Mark and Dean Nalder.

MKM’s Joel Radlof is the only captain of 2016-17 confirmed to lead again this season.

For more on this story see the Back Page of The Advertiser, Friday, October 6.

Comments are closed.