Maryborough skipper named MDCA’s best for 2016-17

Ken Gibbs congratulates Maryboroughʼs Corey Taylor after the Owls captain claimed the 2016/17 MDCA best and fairest, which has been named in Gibbsʼ honour.

Maryborough skipper Corey Taylor has been crowned the Maryborough District Cricket Association’s inaugural Ken Gibbs Medallist.

The Owls captain took out a close vote count at Wednesday’s MDCA presentation evening, polling 14 votes to finish one ahead of Laanecoorie Dunolly all-rounder Jayden Templeton and claim the association’s top individual honour.

Taylor, who also topped the MDCA’s batting averages after knocking up a total of 460 runs at an average of 76.67 in eight innings, and earned the nod as captain of the association’s Team of the Year, said he was humbled to win the award, which has been re-named in honour of legendary Colts Phelans all-rounder Ken Gibbs this season.

“I’m extremely honoured to have won the inaugural Ken Gibbs Medal,” Taylor said.

For more on this story see the Back Page of The Advertiser, Friday, March 17.

Comments are closed.