Council decided

One new face will join six returning councillors to govern the Central Goldfields Shire for the next four years.

The Victorian Electoral Com- mission announced provisional results for the 2016 general council elections on Saturday, revealing that newcomer Gerard Murphy will form local government with unopposed candidate Chris Meddows-Taylor and Geoff Lovett, Wendy McIvor, Paula Nixon, Bob Henderson and Helen Broad, who all retained their position at the council table after serving in the last term.

The provisional results of the election will be publicly declared tomorrow morning before the new council is sworn in at special council meeting on Friday where a new mayor will be elected.

For more on this story see the Front Page of The Advertiser, Tuesday, November 1.

Comments are closed.