Matt claims medal victory

141011 14

Matt Andrews has taken out monthly medal honours at the Maryborough Golf Club following Saturday’s stroke round.

Matt scored 73-10-63 to take out the medal as well as the A grade win, with Rob Daniell hot on his heels with 80-13-67.

Doug Rowe topped B grade on 85-20-65 followed by Glen Bardsley with 82-16-66.

Cyril Cunningham continued his good form with a victory in C grade, scoring 96-31-65, one shot ahead of runner-up Ron Cloke with 93-27-66.

Nearest the pin winners were Frank Peck (second hole), Glen Bardsley (sixth), Jamie Postle (second shot on the 16th) and Paul Raven (18th).

Ball winners were Dave Richards, John Fry, Jamie Postle, Dean Marshall, Gary Bray, Austen Murphy, Rob Carson, Frank Peck and Grant Sluce.

In Tuesday’s par competition, it was Peter Myers who came out on top, claiming A grade with a score +4.

A grade runner-up was Matt Andrews with +3, while Ron Giles triumphed in B grade with +4 on countback from John Fry who also finished the day with +4.

Nearest the pin winners were Ron Giles (second) and Mick McCarthy (18th).

Ball winners were Peter Walsh, Rob Clegg, Greg James, Max Palmer, Brian Kelly, John Davis, Tony Heagney, Maurie Nunan, Mick McCarthy, John Potter and Mario Rosini.

In the ladies’ competition, Barb Willis was crowned the medallist of the year by the narrowest of margins, taking the title with a score of 95-25-70 ahead of runner-up Doreen Rasmussen on 73 nett.

Ball winners were Lesley Fergus, Phyllis Proctor and Dulcie Perry, who was also the day’s only nearest the pin winner on the 18th hole.

In Wednesday’s four ball multiple stableford, Sharon Treble and Lesley Fergus joined forces to claim a win, scoring 83 points to blow their competition out of the water.

Rene Shiell and Kay Branton paired up to take second spot on 73 points.

Ball winners were Kaye Share and Kaye Mullane and Dulcie Perry and Lorraine Vicum.

Nearest the pin winners were Sharon Treble (second hole) and Christine Hooper (18th).

Comments are closed.