Jamie Elliott and Scott Sellers in charge of Rovers.

061109 01

Jamie Elliott and Scott Sellers have been appointed joint coaches of the Maryborough Rovers Football Netball Club for season 2010.

For the last couple of seasons, Jamie has been coach of Castlemaine in the Bendigo Football League and last season, Scott played with the ‘Maine under Jamie and had a solid season.

Club secretary, Gary Chaplin, said this week “The club is looking forward to both Jamie and Scott having some influence on our playing group in 2010.

“Jamie is one of the right people in mentoring our young players and he’s certainly qualified in this area as well as some of the great stuff he has done during his football career which he can offer to the players and also challenge our playing group in what they do on and off the football field,” he said.

“Scott is a young player looking at starting a coaching career and has been away playing in major leagues to gather some experience from other coaches.

“He has a strong approach to his footy and plays with real passion and the club would rather have a player and coach with passion than people who don’t,” Chaplin said.

“Scott will be good also for our young players as the club focuses in this area at the moment,” he said.

The club has appointed Damien Lord as its reserves coach for the 2010 season.

Damien has been involved in football in he AFL-NT, AFL-Qld, Ovens and King league and the Kyabram District Football League. His vast experience will be an asset to the club.

Graeme Gourley will be in charge of the under 17s for the upcoming season after coaching the club’s under 14 side and then assisting with the under 17s last season.

Graeme is looking at growing the club’s list and developing the list.

The club is now right into its recruiting campaign, looking to adding quite a few new faces to its list for season 2010.

The club will be holding a family day and a training run on Sunday, November 29 at its Jubilee Oval clubrooms from 10.30 am.

All the club netball coaching positions have been filled for season 2010. Sandra Westbrook will once again be in charge of the A and B grade sides.

Leah Wood will be looking after the C grade team and Kellie Wright has been appointed to the position of under 17s coach.

Kylie O’Connor will be looking after the club’s under 15 team.

Dennis Hedger will be once again president of the club in 2010. Rick Dawson is vice president and Gary Chaplin secretary. Jessica Hutchinson is assistant secretary and Gary and Kathy Chaplin are joint treasurers.

The general committee comprises Prue Anderson, Jason Booth, Dot Drake, Dean Hill, Nic Summers, Richard Logue, Graeme Johnson and Sandra Westbrook.

With everything set in stone, the club looks forward with optimism in 2010.

Comments are closed.